LEARNING LOG 6

This is my final learning log for COMSEC2. It’s so sad that our security subject is coming to an end but I am expecting to carry on my studying through the references given by our professor 🙂 Although it’s sad 😦 , I am a bit happy because I got to learn so many things about Computer Security this term. I remembered our exercises about the nmap usage for the networks, Snort and other useful applications that I want to explore more. For example, Kali Linux was available to me since our INVESTI subject and I only got to explore BeEF framework and nothing else. I want to learn how to defend systems from attacks that are common in today’s society. That’s one of my motivation to study well in our COMSEC2 class as well as in our other classes. For these two past weeks, we had many events that happened. We learned from the mobile malware lesson that Sir Justin taught us. It was interesting since I taught that mobile malware was limited and not defined that much. We also had our presentation of our correlator this week and it was a success!! Yehey!!!!! :)) I was nervous because at first I thought it was hard to do since we had our basis from two other correlation techniques which are Alert Correlation and Event Correlation. We aptly named our correlation technique as Tree Correlation and we began deciding what types of software should we use to produce the output of correlated logs. We decided to use the Visual Basic language from the Visual Studio application and use the older version of Snort since the newest version doesn’t have the support for the database connection. We used Snort 2.9.2.2 which has the schema example as well as the database connection functionality. I was excited because we were creating a correlator from scratch and we were implementing our correlation technique. Overall, we had great success and we plan to continue this project for a research paper! Thanks for reading!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

